Hatred and intolerance appear to be the new models for living in our society today. The attitudes I see in our politicians, civic and church leaders and average citizens saddens me. Intolerance and hatred are rapidly becoming the national religion and new converts are flocking to the faith each day. This new religion needs a creed so all of us might know what it stands for. Often adherents to a religion are confused about what their professed faith really stands for so, I thought I might write a litany for adherents of the religion of bigotry in order to make clear the principle beliefs of this religious movement. Here is what I believe the religion of bigotry stands for. 

“A Litany of Hate and Intolerance.”

That cop stopped me for speeding; All cops are crooked.

They must be removedhate4

The politicians over tax me and make laws that infringe on my rights.

They must be removedhate6

Women who do not know their place are trouble makers.

They must be removedhateburka

Disabled people are a drain on this country.

They must be removed. hate5

The Chinese are taking over my country; The Chinese can not be trusted.

They must be eliminated. hate10

That black guy is a thief; All blacks are inferior.

They must be eliminatedhate3

Mexican immigrants are disgusting; All Mexicans take our jobs and abuse our system.

They must be eliminated. hateM

That Muslim killed Americans; All Muslims want to kill Americans.

They must be eliminated. hate

Other countries are sucking us dry; Other countries hate us.

They must be eliminated. 

Statue of Liberty and New York City

I am a member of a superior race; All other races are inferior.

They must be eliminated. hate9

I am a right thinking person. Those who disagree with me are mindless puppets being duped by the liberal media.

They must be eliminated, then America will be right. Amen

The god of the religion of bigotry is no god I know and I do not want to be associated with any religion founded on hate and intolerance. Intolerance and hate only spawn more hate and intolerance. The God I know is a God of compassion, grace and love. I hope the words coming out of my mouth support the God of my faith. What religion do your words profess as your own?

The definition of a bigot: a person who is obstinately or intolerantly devoted to his or her own opinions and prejudices; especially one who regards or threatens the members of a group (as a racial or ethnic group) with hatred and intolerance.

See you next time.

