Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

On a bitter cold day I ventured down to Lancaster County in search of Diggity Dog. My GPS took me to the spot but it wasn’t there. Instead there was a grill on the sight where Diggity Dog was supposed to be. So, I set a new course for Nathan’s. It wasn’t there either having been replaced by a pizza place. I tried again for a second Nathan’s and found myself in the parking lot of an office building. You might be asking yourself why I was looking for hot dogs in Lancaster County. “Isn’t that where all those good Pennsylvania Deitsch family style restaurants are located?” you query. Of course you would be correct. Lancaster County is home of, to name a few, Good n’ Plenty, Millers, Plain n’ Fancy, Hershey Farm and Restaurant, Bird-in-Hand Family Restaurant and Smorgasbord and Shady Maple.

Lancaster4Lancaster12

You might ask, “Isn’t this the home of the Amish and Whoopie Pies and Shoo-fly Pie”?

LancasterAmish1LancasterAmish

The answer of course is, “Yes! Eating is good in this county”. I know from experience (My Jane and I lived in Lancaster for two years) how good the eating is in The Pennsylvania Deitsch County. We lived in Lancaster while I earned my Master of Divinity Degree at Lancaster Theological Seminary back in the 1970’s.

Lancaster

Some of my professors might argue the term ‘earned’ in my case. But, I do have the diploma as proof!:-)

Lancaster County (Lengeschder Kaundi, in Pennsylvania German-Pennsylvania ‘Dutch’) was formed from part of Chester County on May 10, 1729 as the fourth county in the state.

Pennsylvania’s only U.S. President, James Buchanan a Democrat elected as the 15th President in 1856 lived in Wheatland in Lancaster County. Another well known Lancaster County resident was Thaddeus Stevens a Radical Republican who served in the House of Representatives from 1849-1853 and from 1859 until he died in 1868. In 1851 Stevens was hired by the Pennsylvania Anti-Slavery Society (Pennsylvania had abolished slavery in 1780.) to defend Castner Hanway for his participation in the event known variously as the, Christiana Riot, Christiana Resistance, Christiana Outrage or Christiana Tragedy. The jury found Hanway not guilty of the death of a Maryland slave owner who was killed while trying to reclaim four runaway slaves in Lancaster County.

Let’s get back to the dilemma at hand. After three failed attempts to find a hot dog with my phone I decided I could be smarter then my phone and set off for Route 30 east of Lancaster and, behold, there was a Sonic Drive-In.

Lancaster2Lancaster6

They sell hot dogs and I bought my first Coney Island Style Foot Long Hot Dog on this quest. It went down real easy for this hungry boy. The tater tots were a pleasant side. I went inside after I ate to get a photo with my server, Kim.

Lancaster5

She is a pretty hardy gal to make outside deliveries in the arctic weather we were experiencing when she came out to my car. Doesn’t her smile warm your heart?

I don’t want to say it was cold but the highest temperature I saw all day was 16. As you can see in some of the photos the wind was blowing fiercely and it was not a tropical wind! I stopped ‘briefly’ at a few of my favorite haunts in Lancaster County for photo-ops to include the National Toy Train Museum,

Lamncaster7

Red Caboose Inn,

Lancaster9

Strausburgh Railroad,

Lancaster16

Pennsylvania Railroad Museum

Lancaster13Lancaster15

and the clock tower in Gap, PA.

Lancasterg

I also took a picture of a Quilt Shop next to Miller’s for My Jane.

Lancaster10

See you next time.

