Tags

, , ,

We haven’t been to a hot dog shop for a few days and I was missing the thrill. Then it came to me, “Go hang out at the grocery store hot dog department!” Brilliant. So, here I am absorbing the ambiance at the hot dog display and feeling content!

storestore2

First I went to Giant and then I went to Dollar General. Hot dogs are everywhere!

Wow! There were, Jumbo and Bun Length, Kosher and Ball Park, All Beef and Turkey and something named Variety. Standing in the hot dog department I began to day dream about picnic season and hot dog eating. And I thought of my friend Patty who wondered if the National Hot Dog and Sausage Council was located next to the Pot Hole Alliance League! She of course was kidding but I looked it up just for fun. I couldn’t find any organization like that but I did learn that Dorset County in the United Kingdom did institute a “Pot Hole Day” just this week. But a pot hole day is nothing when compared to what the hot dog earned. Hot dogs get an entire month. Here is the information from the National Hot Dog and Sausage Council; “July is National Hot Dog Month and Americans will be consuming the infamous little red tubes of ‘meat’ in record numbers this summer. The Council estimates that over seven billion hot dogs will be eaten by Americans between Memorial Day and Labor Day. During the July 4th weekend alone (the biggest hot-dog holiday of the year) 155 million will be downed”. I plan to be a major contributor to that total!

See you next time

