Tags

, , ,

Some of my friends ask, “Your eating hot dogs?” Its like they don’t believe anyone eats hot dogs. Well, I found the following statistics in a site entitled: Hot Dog Fast Facts from the National Hot Dog and Sausage Council. I hope this paragraph helps my friends see how many of us are eating hot dogs all across the country!

How many hot dogs do Americans eat each year and where do they eat them?

According to recent survey data obtained by the Council, Americans purchase 350 million pounds of hot dogs at retail stores – that’s 9 billion hot dogs! But the actual number of hot dogs consumed by Americans is probably much larger. It is difficult to calculate the number of hot dogs Americans may eat at sporting events, local picnics and carnivals. The Council estimates Americans consume 20 billion hot dogs a year – more than twice the retail sales figures. That works out to about 70 hot dogs per person each year. Hot dogs are served in 95 percent of homes in the United States. Fifteen percent of hot dogs are purchased from street vendors and 9 percent are purchased at ballparks, according to statistics from the Heartland Buffalo Company.”

Wrigley Field Ernie banks2Harrisburg Senators3

My brother-in-law Jeff and I joined Ernie Banks at Wrigley Field this summer. My Jane, Uncle Ed and Mary enjoyed the Harrisburg Senators game. Hot dogs were eaten by lots of folks on those two occasions last summer.

campfire JuneSept dogs

July13

Picnics happen all summer in our backyard. Of course wine goes with hot dogs and chocolate. I have no idea what my grandson, Joshua, and I are doing. I’ll bet we ate some of those hot dogs that day for lunch or dinner or both.

I hope this blog entry reassures my friends that many of us are eating a whole lot of hot dogs every year. My goal is to prevent those numbers from dropping in 2015!

See you next time.

